AI, ML, Development + Cisco Learning Blog Learning about Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, related devlopment topics and formerly Routing and Switching, Datacenter, Security and other topics, CCIE #23664, Frank Wagner

23. Mai 2006

OSPF Areas

Filed under: OSPF — ocsic @ 17:47

When you start with OSPF, everything seems to be simple. But later on you learn about many differnent types of OSPF areas.

  • Stub area – has no connection to external networks, it does not contain any external routes, relieys mostly on default routes, does not have AS-external routes (Type 5 LSAs)
  • Totaly Stub area – is an extension to the stub area and includes external routes and routes to other area over a default route, get these by Typ 3LSAs, does not support summary routes
  • Backbone area – is always area zero
  • NSSA, Not so stubby area – the same as SA, but can import external routes and send them to the backbone or other areas, type 3 and type 4 summary routes are not advertised into NSSA


Keine Kommentare »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress